Three for Today #19 – (Husband, Rockets and Broni)

Believe or not, sometimes people tell me to update my blog. I laugh, and tell them I intend to write a new post. So to those who have asked over the past five months, this one’s for you.

Husband – Ordinary
Michael Paolino, front man of Luna Parade (previously known as Myles Vincent – I still have that EP lying around here somewhere) and lead guitarist of Carl Fox. Now, let me introduce you to his moniker, Husband. The track Ordinary had me hooked from the beginning with its build up and powerful vocals. Fans of The National, take the time to listen to this one. Self titled EP available here.

Rockets – McBird
Back in 2010, I wrote about this Sydney four piece here, the band went on to release their debut EP last year. Now Rockets are set to release a second EP Nothing To Say on May 4th. Happy days. I’ve been streaming the new EP here, and McBird is my current favourite. Rockets sure know how to write a catchy tune.

Broni – You Are My Friend (ft. Bushwalla)
At The Empress last week I caught half of Broni’s set, and I’m glad I did. This folk/pop singer-songwriter and his guitar were joined by his friend, Easy on drums. The set was laid-back, funny, and more importantly showcased Broni’s songwriting. You Are My Friend is taken from his album To Get Her Together. Highly recommend listening to his music here, here or here. Oh, and go see him live.

Leave a Reply

