Matt Corby


Dear Matt Corby, I apologise for not giving you a second listen until now. Sorry. From, sabi.

Earlier last year Letters by Matt Corby was featured on one of my favourite blogs, Triple J Home & Hosed. Admittedly the idol background put me off at first but I was willingly to put that behind me as I had with previous idol contestant, Lisa Mitchell. But upon listening to Letters, the high similarity to Bon Iver was enough to make me only listen to the song once, and so I carried on listening to other Australian music. (edit: not saying I’m not a Bon Iver fan, it’s just at that point in time it seemed everything in Australian music was Bon Iver this, Bon Iver that)

Fast forward to early this month and I was given an exclusive listen to My False, the new single from now 19 year old Matt Corby. I put past thoughts to rest and as I hit the play button I’m met with almost haunting vocals, instantly securing my attention. It then progresses into a stompy folk anthem that continues to build with a soaring falsetto, further complimented by Matt’s delicate vocals throughout the song. This time I hit replay without a second thought.

And you know what? I went back and listened to Letters. It’s not bad.

Sometimes songs just need a listen or two.

My False (and Lighthome) is available on iTunes and Matt Corby has just announced a national headline tour. Having read raving live reviews, he’s the newest addition to my must see live list, and now should be on yours. Ticket links and dates below:

Wednesday 30 June – Brass Monkey, Cronulla
Thursday 1 July – Raval, Sydney
Friday 2 July – Heritage Hotel , Wollongong
Saturday 3 July – Northern Star Hotel, Newcastle
Thursday 8 July – The Toff in Town, Melbourne
Friday 9 July – National Hotel, Geelong
Saturday 10 July – Baby Black Cafe, Bacchus Marsh
Thursday 15 July – The Troubadour, Brisbane
Friday 16 July – Bon Amici, Toowoomba
Saturday 17 July – Hard Rock Cafe, Surfers Paradise
Thursday 22 July – Settlers Tavern, Margaret River
Friday 23 July – Ellington Jazz Club, Perth
Saturday 24 July – Norfolk Basement, Fremantle

One response to “Matt Corby

  1. I almost want the Bon Iver phase to come back. I’m a little bit sick of the Vampire Weekend phase we seem to be going through.
    I wa quite suprised at how good his stuff actually is considering his Idol past.
    ALlso, he looks a bit like the cowardly lion in this picture…

Leave a Reply

